What’s with panorama headers nowadays?

At Facebook its 850×320 pixels more or less (see my FB wall cover pic above). At two other photo sharing sites its wider but less narrower in height. This free Modularity Lite theme at WordPress got me scratching my head when I started this blog nearly a month ago. Its header image is very wide and very short at exactly 950×200 pixels. Beat that. There’s no problem with cropping and finding the appropriate image. It just seems wherever I go this is the trend. Looking at it from the design point of view I understand the need for a long horizontal rectangle. Though banner-like, it also conserves space, enough to give you a good noticeable header but at the same time enough to provide more room for your content. Just don’t give me a header with a height of less than 200 pixels because by then I’ll be pulling my hair! Enjoy the weekend everyone!

3 responses

  1. I adopted your idea for overlaying text on the header image. The main thing wrong with Modularity Lite is the name of the blog is too small. This solves the problem without having to purchase the custom font package.

    December 28, 2012 at 8:29 pm

    • Junsjazz

      right you are Ron! if we can’t increase the size of the header title, then splash it on the header image…you did great on your header, striking and catchy

      December 29, 2012 at 1:48 am

Leave a Reply

