In memory of a river

JJWP286This is a scenic picture of a river’s mouth that opens up into a bay, lined with mangrove trees that help stem soil erosion. This is the last picture I have of this scenery which was taken two years ago. It is just 30 minutes from our place, outside of the city center. Last month, when I returned to this place it was no more. In its place now is a large petrochemical complex. The river with its mangrove forest just disappeared, eaten up and erased by an industrial plant. Situations like these rile me, and the feeling is a mixture of sadness, disappointment and utter frustration. I am no environmental warrior, but I don’t need to be one to know that this is totally wrong – big business taking precedence over nature, with the local city government in conspiracy with this dastardly act. Well, in the first place it was the city government that issued permits and the go signal, potentially earning big (in taxes and other fees) from these huge businesses. But to erase an entire river from the map and alter the natural features of the coastline just smacks of utter disrespect and apathy for nature. That is why nature gets back at us through soil erosion, flooding, landslides, rise in sea levels, global warming – ecological disasters brought about by man himself, because of commercial greed and selfishness. I may rant for the rest of my life but nothing will ever be the same, the river will not return. It has all but died, not from natural causes but by the wanton disregard of the human species. This picturesque scene is now vanished; ecology once again vanquished. And all I have now is this picture, a memory of beauty that once was. I bow my head in shame, we are not worthy caretakers of Mother Earth.

10 responses

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more. I’ve experienced similar situations. It is pure environmental recklessness, and very sad indeed. It looks like it was a beautiful place.

    December 27, 2012 at 1:55 pm

    • Junsjazz

      yes it was a beautiful place, I used to walk about the river’s mouth as it flowed to the bay, trying to avoid stepping on the freshly sprouting stumps of young mangroves. Thanks Julie!

      December 28, 2012 at 1:56 am

  2. quite sad … so beautiful place it was

    December 27, 2012 at 3:53 pm

    • Junsjazz

      yup, it’s a sad state of things…thanks Katy!

      December 28, 2012 at 1:57 am

  3. Big business is the manifestation… Too many people is the problem. I carry with me a memory of a small trout stream of my youth and my utter horror to rediscover it years later, its banks lined with homes, the fish mostly gone…

    December 27, 2012 at 10:57 pm

    • Junsjazz

      humanity had crept into the habitat of these creatures, and altered the balance of nature…thanks Barbra and Jack!

      December 28, 2012 at 2:00 am

  4. petit4chocolatier

    Very true. Very sad.

    December 28, 2012 at 1:38 am

    • Junsjazz

      Thanks always Judy!

      December 28, 2012 at 2:00 am

  5. This breaks my heart just reading it. Where is this? What was the name of the river?

    December 28, 2012 at 9:50 pm

    • Junsjazz

      I don’t even know if the river has a name, I always pass by it whenever I go to Montemaria a cliff 40 mins away from Batangas City where I take sunset shots…now the river is gone and a vast petrochemical plant occupies some 5 hectares of the place

      December 29, 2012 at 1:53 am

Leave a Reply

