The most ambitious issue yet

JJMags5Issue #5 of the digital magazine edition of this blog will be out later this week. This is the most ambitious issue so far in this ongoing online project of mine. It has an all black and white photography theme, thematic background music, subtle lay-out changes and design, contextual voice-overs and, from eight pages in the first issue, this latest outing has now ballooned to 26 pages from cover to cover. Half of it is devoted to six photo bloggers who have responded to my invitation to be featured in Issue #5. In the above magazine cover pic, their names have been deliberately blot out; I will reveal them when the issue goes online. Before that happens, I would like to thank from the bottom of my heart these six photographers who took the time from their busy lives to coordinate and communicate with me with regards to the content, materials and permissions to use their copyrighted works. For that I am grateful. For the past two issues, I have been sharing this digital platform with photographers and it gives me immense pleasure and satisfaction that in my own little way I get to confer recognition to my peers. And I’ll keep doing so in the next issues.

6 responses

  1. I look forward to reading it! đŸ˜€

    January 20, 2013 at 10:49 pm

    • Junsjazz

      You should Richard! hehe…thanks!

      January 21, 2013 at 1:39 am

  2. sjophotography

    Looks fantastic. Must be a lot of work to make something like this happen to congratulations to you

    January 21, 2013 at 1:20 am

    • Junsjazz

      Well I got the hang of it, using the lay-out and design editor at Joomag. And good thing I have a background on desktop publishing, lay-out, graphics and typography from my previous work which came in handy when creating the magazine.Lots of elements and components go into creating an Issue – cover and page design, text and written materials, lay out and placement of photos, titles and headers, quotation breaks, a voice app for the voice overs and I have to go through my jazz collection to come up with appropriate background music which have to be spliced or shortened through an audio editing program. These are aside from coordinating with each of the featured photographers. Its a labor of love, and I get my reward by coming up with a worthy, professional-looking, finished product. Thanks Shannon! oops, my reply got too long…:-)

      January 21, 2013 at 1:52 am

  3. Very impressive what you can do on this site. Beautiful photos.

    January 21, 2013 at 6:42 am

    • Junsjazz

      Created through online tools accessible to us. Much thanks Jane!

      January 21, 2013 at 7:06 am

Leave a Reply

