The element of luck

When you’re on a small motor boat cruising along the coastline, you don’t have much room to maneuver. You can not go around and find a vantage point. You have no choice of perspective. The only viewpoint you have is that of a passenger whiling away his time on a three-hour trip by pointing his camera here and there, and just casually snapping the scenery. You try to summon as much of your technical and creative skills in a cramp, immobile situation. Then you wish for luck.

JJWP408

As fate would have it, luck descended on some of my shots (like the one above) given the situation I was in. Though we have no control over it, luck or what photographers fondly call serendipity, is the third element in the triumvirate of arsenals. The other two I have mentioned in the first paragraph are creativity and technical skills. Serendipity is when you are out there in the field after a day of shoot, all packing up and satisfied with the shots you’ve taken, when suddenly a giant bird perched on a nearby tree, or a ray of light fell on the foliage, or a line of tree cast a calm reflection on the riverbank. Serendipity happens as a form of answered prayer, like when I solemnly requested that I get even just one good picture while I was on that small motor boat. I got half a dozen. Serendipity, though you don’t know when it will come, is aided when you are prepared, armed with the skills of how to capture, and ready with your knowledge of what and when to shoot. Serendipity will answer the why.

5 responses

  1. this is so beautiful! I love it!

    February 20, 2013 at 1:19 pm

    • Junsjazz

      Thanks always Christian!

      February 20, 2013 at 2:16 pm

  2. You picture is great. My boat pics are never all that. Still, I’d quite like to share them. Would you mind if I paraphrased your first paragraph for my next boat themed blog post? I would credit you for giving me the idea and link to this post 😉

    February 20, 2013 at 8:48 pm

    • Junsjazz

      Oh go ahead Hannah, I’ll be honored. Much thanks!

      February 21, 2013 at 12:50 am

Leave a Reply

