The gift of sight

Around 15 years ago I was diagnosed with glaucoma. It is a debilitating eye condition which, if left unattended, can lead to blindness. I was at an advanced stage and had to undergo expensive and critical laser surgery on both eyes. The medical process was to free up the pressure that was building up inside the eye so that the liquid inside can freely circulate. Unlike the skin organ, the rods and cones in our eyes damaged by the built-up pressure caused by glaucoma cannot regenerate. My sense of sight has not been the same ever since that operation. I wear glasses though the grade is not that high. Glaucoma doesn’t go away, there is always the prospect of a recurrence. How does this affect my photography?

JJWP389

If you have been following this blog for some time now and going through my image postings you may say that I have 20/20 vision. Well, it’s far from that. I have poor eyesight and is nearsighted. I don’t know if that’s because of my previous glaucoma condition. It’s crucial that I wear my eyeglasses when driving because I can not clearly see distant objects, they are all just a blur. I even struggle peering through the electronic viewfinder of my DSLR and find it more comfortable viewing, framing and capturing through the camera’s LCD screen. Such setback (I wouldn’t call it a disability) does not deter me. It even encourages and inspires me to really “see” things. This gift of sight, no matter how imperfect it is for me, propels my photography and visual imagery. Maybe because of this condition I strive to see more, and go the extra effort to perceive light and other elements that make up a good picture. Maybe I am guided more by my internal vision than my external sight when photographing. Or both could be complementing each other. All you my friends who have perfect eyesight be thankful, and utilize that powerful sense to make the most of your capture.

13 responses

  1. I too have some (serious) visual issues. Part of why I am so desperate to ‘see’ the world. I would think that your visual differences are part of what makes you such an incredible photographer. Indeed I am sure that is why you take the time to really ‘see’. I thought there was something special about you & the depth of your writings & imagery!! 😀

    March 18, 2013 at 2:24 pm

    • Junsjazz

      Thank you Ana! I am a fan of The Habitual Runaway and enjoy your image postings and stories. I guess we who are visually challenged try to compensate in other ways to “see” things and stuff and make them presentable to our viewers. Keep on clicking!

      March 18, 2013 at 2:52 pm

  2. I think you well performed through the eyes to make magnificent and beautiful photographic shots. You use your heart and soul to get better shots. All over the years we have difficulties, logical consequence of years. Good luck and strength.
    Cruz

    March 18, 2013 at 2:25 pm

    • Junsjazz

      Thank you Cruz! Though I can’t much understand your Spanish language I do however fully understand the images that you post, and they are beautiful. Keep it up photographing with the heart and soul.

      March 18, 2013 at 2:55 pm

      • Thanks for your answer. Also you can translate through a translator into English link I have in my blog.
        Adiós
        Cruz

        March 18, 2013 at 3:30 pm

  3. I was legally blind most of my life until a surgical procedure restored most of my vision; it has been a quite a journey learning to see in a new way and the photography has been integral. Good for you for daring, and succeeding, with your images.

    March 18, 2013 at 2:35 pm

    • Junsjazz

      Thank you Ellen! There are difficulties especially when something we’re passionate about requires good eyesight, of which physically we do not have. But we do find ways and as Cruz above pointed out, we also use our heart and soul to capture images.

      March 18, 2013 at 3:00 pm

  4. Very inspiring.really gives weight to being grateful.

    March 18, 2013 at 7:48 pm

    • Junsjazz

      Yes Jane, we should all be grateful for what we have…thanks!

      March 19, 2013 at 4:54 am

  5. you are really talented JJ regarless of any ‘setbacks’!

    March 18, 2013 at 11:34 pm

    • Junsjazz

      Thanks always Mekala!

      March 19, 2013 at 4:52 am

  6. Even with this, your photos are exceptionally brilliant! Take care.

    March 18, 2013 at 11:35 pm

  7. Junsjazz

    Much thanks Michael!

    March 19, 2013 at 4:53 am

Leave a Reply

