That’s when you take a snap

A photographic urge is like a bodily itch, there is only one immediate solution – scratch. In a photographic situation, you can’t help it, you have to take a snap and hope for the best.

JJBW139

I have been to dozens of churches in the Philippines and they are some of my most favorite photo subjects. The older, bigger and more elaborate the church structure, the better. But there are many modern ones that catch my eye, with their attractive geometric designs. Like the above church interior when I was in Cebu City. It was the first time for me to see this particular church and as I entered its door the Mass had just started. It was filled with people and the first thing that struck me was the ceiling design above the altar. I did not want to attract attention and disturb the solemnity of the proceedings so I slowly took out the point and shoot on my belt pouch, turned it on, raised it and took a one-handed snap, all under five seconds. Some people saw me and gave disapproving looks. I bowed my head, closed my eyes and prayed for two things: apology from the Lord above, and hope that I had a good shot. The above picture was the answer. Though patience is an endearing trait of the photographer, there are times when the urge gets the better of him and he just has to take a snap, foregoing all processes of thought and forgetting all about composition. This is not an ideal situation for a thinking photographer. Yet sometimes, there is that rare moment when the photographer leaves it all to divine providence.

5 responses

  1. Amanda

    I love this post and that picture. What an amazing church. They have such wonderful characters and detail, don’t they?

    April 2, 2013 at 1:53 am

    • Junsjazz

      Yes they have. For more church images you may want to view Junsjazz Digital Magazine Issue #2 which is all about Churches & Cathedrals. Just click the “Digital Magazine” menu above the header to access the online publication. Many thanks Amanda! Great photos you have in your blog, I will explore more of your site soon.

      April 2, 2013 at 2:03 am

      • Amanda

        Oh I will look at that, thank you! I love your digital magazines. Thank you for looking at my blog. 🙂 It’s still in the baby stages, but once I get over my blog fright there will be more. 🙂

        April 5, 2013 at 2:20 am

      • Junsjazz

        Blog fright? That’s a product of the mind. Your photography is bold and audacious (I even saw your picture of a hand grenade!) and you seem like you’re not afraid of anything! Jump right in with your great images! 🙂

        April 5, 2013 at 2:55 am

      • Amanda

        Oh wow!! Thank you!! You made my day….year!! I am pretty adventurous with pictures yes 🙂 I am trying to get the words back now, I’m mostly afraid the world will find me boring. But you are exactly right, it is a product of the mind and nothing more! Onward and upward. (Thank you so much for your kind words!)

        April 5, 2013 at 3:06 am

Leave a Reply

