Blue in bright light

JJWP499

Article Excerpt:
Natural light in photography is not as consistent as you may think. At different times of the day, different shades of the color spectrum dominate natural light. For instance, at midday, the blue portion of the color spectrum is dominant, producing a “cool” light. Color photography taken at midday produces the clearest, sharpest pictures in bright light.

In contrast, natural light at sunrise and sunset emphasizes the red portion of the color spectrum. Known as warm light in photography, sunrise and sunset light produces warmer pictures with a softer contrast.
~From the article Light and Color in Photography

9 responses

  1. love those reflections!

    April 3, 2013 at 4:30 am

    • Junsjazz

      Much thanks!

      April 3, 2013 at 11:33 am

  2. amiveltino

    In spite of talent you must have a good equipment…

    April 25, 2013 at 6:47 pm

    • Junsjazz

      No my friend. I don’t have lots of gears. I only have one dslr and one point and shoot camera. But I have developed a sense of seeing things “photographically”. Thanks for dropping by! 🙂

      April 29, 2013 at 3:59 am

      • amiveltino

        Well, maybe I should try to start shooting with my digital camera… I’m curious how you developed what the “photographical sense” exactly is.

        April 29, 2013 at 12:24 pm

      • Junsjazz

        It’s looking out and highlighting the basic elements that make for appealing and interesting images – lines, colors, patterns, textures, shapes, forms, light – and composing them properly. It takes a lot of practice and patience. If you go through the many postings in this blog, they are all about tips to improve our photography creatively and artistically. Thanks again!

        April 29, 2013 at 12:29 pm

      • Junsjazz

        You are an artist with your graphic digital creations, that is a good strong foundation for photography – being artistically inclined. So start shooting my friend!

        April 29, 2013 at 12:32 pm

  3. Just came across your blog and I love your photography. How do you get the colours in your shots so vibrant? Do you edit them at all?? I find a lot of my shots can be dull and I was wondering how I could improve the vibrancy of them?? Any advice would be greatly appreciated 🙂

    May 3, 2013 at 11:43 am

    • Junsjazz

      Hello Regina! Thank you for dropping by! Yes I do edit my photos, I subject them to post-processing because I do not take perfect photos all the time, so tweaking them by deepening the colors and sharpening the images does a lot to improve the picture. My reliable image editing software is PhotoScape. It has tons of features, is user-friendly and totally free. You can download the software here: http://photoscape.org/ps/main/index.php

      May 3, 2013 at 2:15 pm

Leave a Reply

