Be like a child

The photo below is a toy of my niece. It’s a multi-colored plastic springy thing shaped like a star. I looked through it and saw, well, a star-shaped tunnel. Immediately I took my camera and tried to poke the lens through the toy to get a shot. I struggled to get a shot and tried to bend here and there the springy, elastic toy. My niece was amused at what I was doing. I was like a child again, not playing with the toy, but trying to muster a decent shot.

JJWP565

We photographers are the curious, inquisitive type. Upon seeing a potential photographic subject, we stare and take a look, and often fuss about it. We become a child again, wide-eyed, all the while thinking of how to tackle the subject – the angles, perspective, framing and composition. Which is a good thing because it opens our eyes to observe carefully and “see” things in a whole new light.

Martin Lee Leddy has this to say from his article Using Your Inner Child’s Eye:

“Let your eye wander to the normally unnoticed things, and go photograph them. Morning light is a wonderful source of inspiration for taking macro photos of insects, flowers, dripping water, dew covered spider webs and other things we haven’t looked for since childhood. Use wide angle lenses for photos of scenery, and search for opportunities to take other photos of things that later in the day carry no mystique. Look for dew drops, coiled hoses, shadows on the buildings and photograph them all. Enjoy seeing the wonder through the eyes of your inner child. Remember, Look for the details!”

Once the lens was snugly fit inside the other end of the springy toy, I smiled at my niece and beckoned her to look at the camera’s viewfinder and she let out a loud “wow!” upon seeing the image (which is the above photo).

8 responses

  1. I’m amazed at the diverse imagination of my fellow bloggers and learn every day. When I saw this photo I went “wow!” too, especially when the best part was revealed (its origin).
    This post inspired me to look further and wider, with now, limitless possibilities . Thanks!

    May 23, 2013 at 9:15 am

    • Junsjazz

      Thank you! Keep it up with your creativity. Wonderful works you have in your poems, paintings and photography.

      May 24, 2013 at 1:12 am

  2. It’s true as a photographer you look at the world in a different way, ever trying to get that inspired shot and does indeed require you to play. I personally love taking macro shots, it always confounds and amazes people when they find out what the image is, like with your image here. I find that the same principle of looking for the usually unnoticed detail applies very well to creative writing too. Introducing the unexpected yet seemingly ordinary is a great pleasure of mine. Thanks for sharing!

    May 23, 2013 at 11:31 am

    • Junsjazz

      Thank you very much Ishaiya! You described it splendidly! Keep it up with your great artworks!

      May 24, 2013 at 1:15 am

      • 🙂

        May 25, 2013 at 7:59 am

  3. Yes, I have had some fun photographing slinky toys myself.

    May 23, 2013 at 11:15 pm

    • Junsjazz

      Toys don’t escape eyes like ours 🙂 Thanks always Jane! Regards!

      May 24, 2013 at 1:17 am

Leave a Reply

