Surprises

This photography thing sometimes gives me surprises. Though I have been photographing nearly a decade now and am sure, more or less, of the outcome of my camera’s settings, there are shots that still surprise me. Like the one below which looks straight out of an apocalyptic scene – a lone plant representing hope and life amid the ruins, smoke and the blackened sky brought about by a nuclear holocaust. Forgive me, that’s just my imagination running wild.

JJWP568

Actually last weekend I was at a resort that featured 11 swimming pools of various sizes, shapes and depth. As I was exploring the resort complex I came upon this 6-foot high stalk with a single set of leaves at the top. Good, I thought, because I can take the shot from under. But as it was mid day, I knew the result would just be a silhouette of the leaves against a backdrop of a cloudy, yet semi-bright sky. So I used fill flash. The subject was lit up in all its vibrant color but everything else around – the sky, clouds, sun, treetops and other structures – were enveloped in darkness. I was hoping to have a bright subject under a relatively bright background, but was pleasantly surprised to have the above result, and I like it anyway – the “apocalyptic look.”

Note: Today I mark two milestones after blogging for nearly eight months here at WordPress – this is my 500th post and I just exceeded 500 followers (real WP followers and not those culled from social media sites).  Not really earth-shattering stats but they are correlated – for every post I make there is a corresponding increase in followers, especially from the second month onwards. Likewise, the increase in followers egged me to write and do more postings. I take this chance to thank each and every one of you who have learned a thing or two, or who have been inspired a bit by this blog. Let us all keep on clicking!

5 responses

  1. I was sure this was taken at night… stunning!

    May 28, 2013 at 8:29 am

    • Junsjazz

      Much thanks!

      May 29, 2013 at 3:07 am

  2. this is a brilliant shot…your description of the photo fits perfectly, I can see it exactly as stated! Sometimes life hands us wonderful surprises, when we least expect it… Congrats on the number of your post/followers. I’m sure they follow for the same reasons I do, to see your amazing photos, which are inspiring, but to learn from what you do and say…thank you!

    May 28, 2013 at 2:05 pm

    • Junsjazz

      Thanks always Heather! You’re so kind and generous with your words. I could thank you again and again. Best regards!

      May 29, 2013 at 3:10 am

  3. For a beginner such as myself, it is helpful to have blogs like yours, I learn best by seeing/doing, so this works for me. My comments are my way of saying thank you for what I learn!

    May 29, 2013 at 12:06 pm

Leave a Reply

