Kids in panorama

You all know this. When kids are game and in the mood, they will do what you tell them to do. I have a brother-in-law who is a priest, a rector at a local seminary. Last Sunday, family members had a hearty lunch and gathering at the seminary. My nieces were all bunched together and were exploring the nooks and crannies of the old seminary, and I chanced upon them. They saw me with the camera and knew that I was to photograph them. I told them in my most modulated, directorial voice: “Okay kids, pose like super models!” And they did, from the preteen to the three-year-old. We changed locations – from brick backgrounds, to stairs, to old wooden doors. They were all game and did my bidding, posing like there was no tomorrow. I love the expressions, and the innocence trying to replicate maturity. Here are samples:

JJWP579

JJWP580

JJWP581

Where is the panorama part? Well, its in the second half of the story. The kids’ model shoot was taken with a seven-year-old, 10MP Panasonic Lumix LX2. Note the 16:9 aspect ratio of the shots above. When it came out in 2006, the LX2 was the only high-end compact camera that had a sensor and a corresponding LCD screen with a native 16:9 aspect ratio. With full manual controls and RAW shooting capability, the LX2 is great for landscapes and will suit well the needs of enthusiasts and advance amateurs. Now for people, kids in particular during the shoot, I found myself always using the wide end of the lens. Though the LX2 had easy switches for standard 4:3 or 3:2 aspect ratios, I preferred shooting at 16:9 to play with the wide expanse of view. The experience was like a rangefinder with a prime lens – I had to physically get close or far from the subjects. In a previous post I narrated how I was challenged by the boxy 1:1 aspect ratio, same thing with composing and framing at the other extreme of 16:9. And it was all fun – kids, panoramas and a small, fully capable camera.

2 responses

  1. Interesting how young the girls are trained to be “sexy” and how they learn from the media. I would like to see them in poses showing them engaged in some play or a hobby that they love. Plenty of time for them to be adults later.

    June 3, 2013 at 4:23 pm

    • Junsjazz

      Well the truth is I have lots of pictures of my young nephews and nieces in all their normal activities of fun, play and study. This is the first time I took photos of them this way, and it was a revelation. You’re right that they probably learned this in the various media. Thanks Jane!

      June 4, 2013 at 6:03 am

Leave a Reply

