Enjoying the cinematic feel

JJWP590

I have been playing with this 16:9 aspect ratio and I’m loving it. Based on what I’ve picked up on my online readings and personal experiences, I found that this aspect ratio provides the following:

  • A cinematic feel
  • A whole expanse of placing your subjects
  • A great way of having a negative space
  • A different way of “macroing” focusing only on certain parts of the subject
  • A splendid landscape view

Recently I have shifted to using 1:1 square format in my black and white images, now I’ll be using regularly the 16:9 and utilize its full potentials in my color photography. There is so much to learn and I’m enjoying it in this photographic journey of discovery and expression.

14 responses

  1. Nice one. I/ll try 16:9 aspect raatio sometime. Good Job dre.

    June 11, 2013 at 1:27 pm

    • Junsjazz

      Thanks pards!

      June 11, 2013 at 1:35 pm

      • Love you’re shoots and composition of all your pictures. 🙂

        June 11, 2013 at 1:37 pm

  2. I love this longer format, I’ve used it a lot in the past particularly in B&W. It provides a more expansive composition as you say, allowing you to really play around with your subjects and tell a deeper story.

    June 11, 2013 at 7:50 pm

    • Junsjazz

      Thank you Ishaiya! You’re right that this aspect ratio tells a deeper and bigger story. Regards!

      June 12, 2013 at 12:14 am

  3. fabulous shot…we will learn right along with you! 🙂

    June 11, 2013 at 8:24 pm

    • Junsjazz

      Much thanks Heather! Yup, this learning together is fun!

      June 12, 2013 at 12:14 am

  4. amazing pic…how much I would love to be at this place really 🙂

    June 13, 2013 at 12:27 am

    • Junsjazz

      Much thanks Kavita! Best regards and take care in your journeys! Keep on clicking! Anytime you happen to be in my country, drop me a message and I’ll be glad to be your personal tour guide and photo buddy 🙂

      June 15, 2013 at 2:05 pm

      • awe…you know that’s really nice to hear this and I would love to be travel in your city…where do you live? I would get a proper camera by then as well till then I am just refining my skills….Thank you so much for your nice words as these are really inspiring I would say dear 🙂

        June 15, 2013 at 2:45 pm

      • Junsjazz

        I live near the Philippine Capital of Metro Manila which I guess would be your landing point. From there you can get anywhere around the country by plane, bus or boat. You don’t need a DSLR (if that to you is a proper camera), a point and shoot will do. All you need is the photographer’s instinct, and a photo buddy (like me) to take photos of you in your adventures 🙂

        June 15, 2013 at 2:57 pm

  5. Wonderful. Your photo is something so beautiful, that I cannot express me enough well.

    June 15, 2013 at 11:14 am

    • Junsjazz

      Thanks a lot Sartenada! I like your latest flower series. Regards and keep on clicking!

      June 15, 2013 at 2:09 pm

  6. I will be more conscious of this from now on.

    July 1, 2013 at 4:22 am

Leave a Reply

