Visualize and imagine

It’s probably just my art orientation. In my youth, when I start to paint using acrylic or watercolor, the first step would always be to visualize. With pencil I draw lines, shapes and form, then apply little by little layers of paint to come up with a color rendition. This trained me to see the bare structure, to look beyond the literal which helped a lot in my photography. I always see how things are in their most elemental form and how they are structured.

JJWP596

When I see a railroad track, I see lines. In trees I see silhouettes. In flowers I see shapes and a gamut of colors. In city scenes I see graphic forms, corners, hard edges, right angles. In nature I see reflections, soft and dreamy light, shadows and highlights. A subject will present to me something more than the actual. Such as the picture above, I see it as an exploding star. Some may say I’m just being imaginative. But I consider it a key element in photography. When you imagine and visualize how your subject will come out when photographed in a certain way (angle, lighting, perspective, framing, etc.), and take time and care to realize how it will be perceived, then there stems the root of your creativity. Imagination, artistry and creativity – they all work together.

6 responses

  1. And this is what I’ve learned from these posts… thanks!
    You can see my fresh new post on potato art.
    Yes, as a result, I have trained myself to see what’s invisible to some 🙂
    There’s nothing like seeing through the eyes of a lens.

    June 18, 2013 at 11:46 am

    • Junsjazz

      Keep it up with those observant eyes. The first code of a photographer is to observe, to shoot comes later. Thanks!

      June 19, 2013 at 11:34 am

  2. Great post. I agree wholeheartedly. You have to see thing through the imaginative eye, from concept to end.

    June 18, 2013 at 12:27 pm

    • Junsjazz

      Thanks Walter! The realization of our art runs the whole gamut from start to end.

      June 19, 2013 at 11:36 am

  3. well said…great photo by the way!

    June 18, 2013 at 9:22 pm

    • Junsjazz

      Thanks always Heather! Best regards!

      June 19, 2013 at 11:37 am

Leave a Reply

