I like it

JJWP649

My subject, the boy in his banca (local canoe), is out of focus. That is obvious enough. Well, I was in another banca rocking and swaying in that late afternoon when the waters were rising and the tides were becoming restless when I took this shot. I wasn’t in a stable and steady footing in the first place. When I reviewed this image in my computer I was tempted to delete it. However, I had second thoughts simply because taking the picture as a whole I thought was greater than the sum of its parts. The cloud formation, the colors of a sunset peeking through the horizon, the portion of an island, and the subtle green waters were enough to convince me to keep this. Maybe I exact a high standard for myself when it comes to image making, which is good as I see every photographic opportunity as a challenge. But heck, I don’t work for National Geographic hence my photos need not be perfect. In relation to that, my audience and perennial critic first and foremost is myself. A slightly blurred subject in a most captivating environment is, for me, passable. Why? Because I like it.

3 responses

  1. I would have been more than pleased with this image also!

    July 11, 2013 at 3:47 pm

    • Junsjazz

      Thanks a lot Bob! Have a lovely weekend!

      July 12, 2013 at 2:30 pm

  2. well said…it is how I feel as well, of course, I want to learn and improve, but I feel as though I have to please myself first and while the shot may not always be “perfect” if I like it I keep it! Having said that this photos is beautiful…for all the reasons you mentioned separately, but, equally as beautiful as a whole!

    July 13, 2013 at 12:28 am

Leave a Reply

