Sunset Week

Another week and another picture series, this time on one of my all-time favorite subjects – sunsets.

JJWP746

I wrote this piece titled Do The Math on April 27, 2013 and I’m reposting it.

Those few minutes before the sun finally dips into the horizon will give you some deep contrast. It’s where the darkness of ensuing night conquers the last remaining light of day. And depending on the weather, cloud formation and where the rays fall, it can give you an exquisite canvas of colors, light, silhouettes and shadows.

I have said before that I’m not a morning guy, hence I have just a few sunrise shots. But I have a whole collection of sunset scenes – reminders of the cyclical nature of life, of the eternal passing of time divided into a 24-hour day. I remember this quote from American photographer Galen Rowell:

“There are only a fixed number of sunrises and sunsets to be enjoyed in a lifetime. The wise photographer will do the math and not waste any of them.”

I would like to think that the wise photographer is the thinking photographer that we should all strive to be. Whether we have reached that level or not yet, it would add to our experience, satisfaction and skill to capture one of the most spectacular displays of nature afforded us on a daily basis. When the opportunity to photograph a great sunset is there, yes, we should not pass it up. We should “do the math.”

JJWP745

Wishing you all a splendid week ahead!

One response

  1. yes, you are so right! I lived lakeside for over thirty years with a western exposure and unfortunately I missed the daily opportunity to get the shot as I wasn’t into photography then! I think about that often…

    August 6, 2013 at 11:50 pm

Leave a Reply

