How much are your images worth?

Flower 24 Two months ago a design company expressed interest in buying the rights to use my images. They wanted to buy an initial 100 images as first batch. I was pleasantly surprised since the only other time I sold my images was years ago – a couple of pics to a travel website, and one to a local airline for their inflight magazine. Just small deals, but this one now is big. Photography is just a hobby, and if I get to earn on the side, well why not. They asked for the price of a picture. I gave them my rate. They were aghast. They said their current photographer sells them at a low, low price. I was shocked at learning of their photographer’s rate and commented that their guy was almost giving away his images for free! I searched for their photographer’s images and, bragging aside and with all due respect to that photographer, there was no point in comparing. The company owner admitted that my images were far superior in colors, details and composition, and were exactly what they were looking for. I said quality images don’t come cheap, just like any other quality product and service out there. They were upfront enough to admit that they had no budget for my rate. Did I budge? I’m always a reasonable guy, so I lowered my rate a bit considering that they were a start-up and were buying in volume. They said they’ll think it over and would contact me. A couple of months passed and I haven’t heard from them. Did I regret my decision? No. I still believe that quality images come at a premium. Every picture I take carries a part of me with it – my patience, my knowledge, my passion, my style. Heck, a bit of my soul is on every image I make. I can’t sell that for “two-cents” worth! You want cheap, then you’ll have to settle for a cheap image somewhere else. The flower pic above was one of the many they were interested in. What do you think?

Gosh I miss this community! I miss my blogger friends here! I hope everyone is doing fine. As I always encourage everybody – keep on clicking!

7 responses

  1. I agree. I’m a freelance content writer and there are times when I have refused to take up an assignment because of the quoted price. Being an amateur photographer means I’m still learning the craft, but I totally believe what you say that photography requires a lot of patience and perspective is more valuable than an expensive camera.
    I’m sure you’ll get a buyer who sees the long term benefit of quality. All the best!

    June 17, 2015 at 4:07 am

    • Junsjazz

      Thanks Vibha! I have been a professional writer for the past 2 decades working in government and the private sector. When I tried online content writing I almost choked in disbelief to learn that the industry rate was somewhere at 30 to 50 cents for a 300-word article (now I think its 70 cents). Same thing with stock photography sites, they will sell rights to your images for a dollar and pay you 20 to 30 cents. They get you cheap and pay you cheap. Still, many succumb to such unfair situation and sell at a pittance! BTW, wonderful images you have in your site. Keep on clicking!

      June 17, 2015 at 8:06 am

      • Hi JJ. Thanks for liking my pictures. As I said, am learning and hope to make better images every day.

        June 17, 2015 at 12:25 pm

  2. That sounds like microstock pricing deal.

    June 18, 2015 at 12:33 am

    • Junsjazz

      Right you are YC!

      June 18, 2015 at 2:46 pm

  3. Jay

    If we don’t value ourselves highly then no one else will!

    June 18, 2015 at 10:39 pm

    • Junsjazz

      So true! Thanks Jay!

      June 19, 2015 at 11:06 am

Leave a comment