Archive for December 3, 2012

Photo Quotes 62

JJWP212

Whether he is an artist or not, the photographer is a joyous sensualist, for the simple reason that the eye traffics in feelings, not in thoughts.~Walker Evans (A blind guitarist performing for tourists in Cebu City)


What are the 5 P’s of photography?

JJWP199According to writer-photographer Steve Russell in his article The 5 P’s of Photography, they are planning, preparation, patience, perseverance and Photoshop. Huh? Okay, you raised your eyebrow on the last item. Me too. I have nothing against Photoshop and those who swear on its importance but, with all due respect to the writer, I don’t agree with him on his fifth “P”. If we have to edit and enhance our photos it should not only be confined with this Adobe software which is expensive and requires a steep learning curve. I understand the writer may be biased for his favorite editing tool, as I am with PhotoScape which is free, feature-filled and serves my purpose for basic and intermediate level image enhancements. The last “P” for me should stand for “post-processing” which is a generic term and does away with branding and commercial preference. Which means whatever software or tool you use for improving your photos after you’ve taken them, you recognize the need to edit or post-process them to suit your taste and style. I’ve said before in a previous post that I edit my photos because I don’t take perfect pictures SOOC (straight-out-of-cam) all the time. I do basic adjustments to sharpen images, bring out the colors, improve brightness and contrast and the like. And if I can do it with a free, intuitive but powerful software like PhotoScape (which I used to deepen the colors in the picture above), I certainly will. Come to think of it, there should be a sixth “P”, and that should be “passion.” (Photo location: Surigao City)


Issue #2

JJcover2Yes folks, there is already an Issue #2 of Junsjazz Images & Inspiration interactive digital magazine. Well, at least for the magazine cover; the contents are still a work in progress. Issue #2 will feature images of Philippine churches and cathedrals, some of my random thoughts, and of course a selection of photography tips and techniques that I have compiled and shared in this blog. The second issue will come out before month’s end, hopefully after the Christmas hangover and before the big bang of the new year. For the meantime, if you haven’t seen, viewed, heard, read and flipped the pages (sorry for the verbs, the magazine is a multimedia experience) of Issue #1 featuring sunsets and sunrises, here’s your chance to do so. Just click the link. Thank you always my friends for following, for the comments, the likes, appreciation and support. Its probably why I haven’t been “facebooking” for awhile and have been more engrossed in “wordpressing”. It’s different here in the blogging community, the audience is more engaged and active. Have a great week ahead my blogger peers! Stay safe, have fun and keep on clicking!